facebook logo twitter logo



Thursday, January 30

Suzie’s Dogs and Drafts builds on an old favorite

Thursday, Jan. 30, 2014

AMP 

Construction workers have been putting in long hours this week to get Suzie’s Dogs and Drafts ready to open by Saturday. Read story.

ELTON RETURNS | Music intertwined with lives of some fans

Thursday, Jan. 30, 2014

AMP 

Few artists can bring back memories like Elton John. Read story.

Things to know about Saturday’s concert at Covelli Centre

Thursday, Jan. 30, 2014

AMP 

Elton John will return to Youngstown on Saturday for an 8 p.m. concert, His only other Valley Read story.

Globetrotters slammin' at Covelli

Thursday, Jan. 30, 2014

AMP 

The Harlem Globetrotters “ Hammer” and “Flight Time” invite Maria Goske, 6, out onto the court to teach her a few basketball tricks during Wednesday’s performance at the Covelli Centre, Read story.

Wednesday, January 29

Good brews travel fast

Wednesday, Jan. 29, 2014

AMP 

Belgium Brewing Co. will bring its popular craft beers to the Valley in six- and 12-packs. Read story.

Thursday, January 23

Basile plays familiar role in dark comedy

Thursday, Jan. 23, 2014

AMP 

Stand-up comedian Basile is always busy. Read story.

Salem theater offers doo-wop musical

Thursday, Jan. 23, 2014

AMP 

The jukebox musical “Life Could Be a Dream” opens Friday at Salem Community Theatre and will run for two consecutive weekends. Read story.

‘Jamie Marks’ leaves its mark at Sundance film festival

Thursday, Jan. 23, 2014

AMP 

Judging by audience reaction, “Jamie Marks is Dead” made an impression at the Sundance Film Read story.

Wednesday, January 22

Classy, casual and superb

Wednesday, Jan. 22, 2014

AMP 

The chef at Firebirds said the motto is freshness. Read story.

Friday, January 17

List reveals tight Oscars race

Friday, Jan. 17, 2014

AMP 

In a hydra-headed Oscar race, “American Hustle,” “12 Years a Slave” and “Gravity” all have legitimate claims to favorite status. And that’s a good thing. Read story.

Thursday, January 16

Josh Turner brings HIS UNMISTAKABLE STYLE to stambaugh auditorium COUNTRY SINGER PACKS AN EMOTIONAL PUNCH

Thursday, Jan. 16, 2014

AMP 

Country singer Josh Turner said while growing up he had plenty of punching bags. Read story.

Pieces of a Dream tops jazz charts

Thursday, Jan. 16, 2014

AMP 

Pieces of a Dream’s current single, “Stepper’s D Lite,” has hit the No. 1 spot on Billboard’s smooth jazz chart. Read story.

‘Jack Ryan’ series gets an update

Thursday, Jan. 16, 2014

AMP 

Having clung to the Russians as go-to villains long after the Cold War thawed, the movies find themselves current again with their favorite arch-enemy. Read story.

Chardon Polka Band gets TV series

Thursday, Jan. 16, 2014

AMP 

This really shouldn’t come as a surprise: The Chardon Polka Band will be the star of its own reality Read story.

Wednesday, January 15

Sing the praises of ricotta gnocchi

Wednesday, Jan. 15, 2014

AMP 

A Struthers restaurant has a signature dish worth singing for. Read story.

Monday, January 13

Comedian April Macie knows what boys like

Monday, Jan. 13, 2014

AMP 

The road to comedian April Macie’s heart sounds a lot like the same path to a man’s heart: booze and bacon. Read story.

Saturday, January 11

Crue, Poison singers to perform at Super Nats

Saturday, Jan. 11, 2014

AMP 

Rock singers Bret Michaels and Vince Neil will headline concerts at the Stadium GM Superstore Steel Valley Super Nationals June 20-22 at Quaker City Motorsports Park. Read story.

Friday, January 10

Mancini will be guest at dinner

Friday, Jan. 10, 2014

AMP 

Former boxing champion and Youngstown native Ray “Boom Boom” Mancini will be the special guest at a dinner and wine-tasting event March 8 at Mr. Anthony’s Banquet Center, 7440 South Ave. Read story.

Thursday, January 9

4 bands from Valley hope to make some noise

Thursday, Jan. 9, 2014

AMP 

Four Mahoning Valley bands will compete in the 18th annual Tri-C High School Rock Off, which takes place the next four weekends at the House of Blues. Read story.

Wednesday, January 8

Donna’s Diner Hand-Pressed Excellence

Wednesday, Jan. 8, 2014

AMP 

What is now Donna’s Diner, downtown, went through some changes — 10 years of different restaurants and owners serving pizza, ribs and Italian food, among others. Read story.

Thursday, January 2

Playhouse prize includes date with O’Neill, Mancini

Thursday, Jan. 2, 2014

AMP 

You don’t have to be a theater-lover to be interested in the Youngstown Playhouse’s current fundraiser. Read story.

Costner and band coming to Packard

Thursday, Jan. 2, 2014

AMP 

Kevin Costner and Modern West will come to Packard Music Hall for an April 22 concert. Read story.

Film based on YSU prof’s novel vies for a top prize at Sundance ‘JAMIE MARKS IS DEAD’

Thursday, Jan. 2, 2014

AMP 

Carter Smith came across “One for Sorrow” by chance. Read story.

A blockbuster year on screen, at box office

Thursday, Jan. 2, 2014

AMP 

Some critics are calling 2013 the best movie year in a decade. And although critical darlings don’t always produce profits, it will also be the highest-grossing year on record — barely. Read story.

Wednesday, January 1

Wine pioneer retires with glass half full

Wednesday, Jan. 1, 2014

AMP 

A local wine pioneer helped change the industry in the Valley. Read story.

- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -